:: Birthday BASH :: Giveaway #20

Seriously.  When this lovely woman contacted me wanting to do a giveaway on MY blog, I about fell out of my chair.  Though, it’s not a polkadot chair.  šŸ˜‰  Umm, have you SEEN her blog??!?!  Yeah.  I was so honored that she wanted to be included!  So let’s meet the lovely Melissa of Polkadot Chair shall we?  But first!  TODAY IS HER BIRTHDAY TOO!!!  šŸ™‚  How fabulous!

My name is Melissa Mortenson, I have always loved sewing and crafts. About a year ago a decided to start a blog as a “memory keeper” of all the things I liked to make (especially since I gave most of them away).  That blog is called the Polkadot Chair, after the comfy chair I have in my craft room.   It started out small and has grown over the past year. It is now the best job I’ve ever had! 

In January I started a little company called fourteen may (that’s my birthday). I sell sewing patterns and kits through my etsy shop, may & mae, that I run with my friend Traci of Amazing Mae. 

I design patterns based on things that I need. I needed a good bag to carry with me on vacation thus the June Bag was born, I needed a large sturdy bag for all my church stuff, hence the Sunday Bag. and my 14 yr old daughter wanted to give her friend a purse as a birthday present so she drew me a little sketch and I ended up with the March Bag.

I’d love for you to visit my shop www.mayandmae.etsy.com or stop over to my blog an say “Hi”

Someone pinch me!  “owe”!  Ok. This is really happening.

June Bag…

March Bag…

Sunday Bag…

Melissa is giving away 3 patterns, the March Bag, June Bag & Sunday Bag. She is also giving away 4 fat quarters.  There will be 3 winners.  1 winner will get the June bag AND the fat quarters.  The other 2 winners will get the patterns only.  But, since I have hooked you up with some fabric stores during these giveaways, you know where you can find some fabric to make them.  šŸ™‚







Here is how to enter ….

Go visit Melissa’s Shop.  Come back here and tell me what you loved.
Extra Entries:
– Go visit Melissa’s Blog.  Follow her and wish her a Happy Birthday!
– Follow Melissa on Twitter.  Come back here and let me know you did.
– Do this for me: What is your favorite cake?

Good luck!!!

This entry was posted in giveaway. Bookmark the permalink.

145 Responses to :: Birthday BASH :: Giveaway #20

  1. Jarka says:

    I love everything in that Etsy shop :)how hard to choose…but right now I would wear Soldered Glass Charm Pendant, Vintage Playing Card and Keep Calm and Carry On Red if I had it šŸ™‚

  2. Dianne says:

    I love the Keep calm charms! so fun!

  3. Dianne says:

    I went to Melissa's blog and gave her some comment love there šŸ˜‰

  4. Dianne says:

    I am now a follower on twitter.

  5. Dianne says:

    and…my favorite cake by far is vanilla. Plain Ole Vanilla.

  6. Rachel says:

    I simply love the soldered initial charm. Even though EVERYTHING at her shop is fabulous.Fun give-away!

  7. Rachel says:

    I'm heading over to Melissa's blog now…and wishing a happy birthday.

  8. Lori says:

    I love her bag patterns. The love pouch is quite cute as well. I purchased the March pattern not too long ago and really enjoyed sewing it!

  9. Kathy says:

    The Sunday bag is my favorite!

  10. Lori says:

    Carrot Cake is my fave!

  11. Kathy says:

    I wished Melissa a Happy Birthday!

  12. Kathy says:

    And now I follow her on Twitter!

  13. shelly says:

    I went to Melissa's blog and left her some birthday love. I've been a follower for awhile – she's great!

  14. I left her some birthday love!

  15. Love the patterns, and the initial pendants are really cute, too!

  16. Love the march bag pattern!! So cool!

  17. And I'm kinda partial to chocolate cheesecake – does that count? šŸ˜‰

  18. Lori says:

    I followed Melissa's blog. Not sure why I haven't before, but am glad I did now!

  19. I love any cake really! But red velvet is my all time fave!

  20. Crystal says:

    Confetti cake is my favorite! Happy birthday to you both!

  21. Leanna says:

    Love the June Bag, but the necklaces are super cute too!

  22. Leanna says:

    My favorite cake was my wedding cake…ugh, so darn good. But otherwise, a super chocolate cake with fudge icing! yum!

  23. Now following Melissa on twitter!p.s. Love her tutorials on her blog

  24. RisaJ says:

    I love the June Bag Pattern! I've been looking for a fabric shoulder bag for a long time. This is going to be a great project.A Happy Birthday wish to everyone! Favorite cake: Strawberry — my daddy's strawberry cake is the most awesome thing ever!!

  25. Krissa says:

    So many cute things…I love those bag patterns…and i love the glass soldered charm necklaces…super super cute!

  26. Krissa says:

    Favorite cake….ICE CREAM cake!!!!

  27. Amy says:

    Oh mercy…I just left this super long comment under the beautiful pillow post…oops…I love Melissa's tree skirt with the trim!!!! Just gorgeous. Love, love the June bag!!! I'll be back here often…love your stuff! Thanks for your fab designs…I keep checking for them! Have a wonderful weekend!

  28. Richele says:

    oh decisions decisions – sunday or june, june or sunday … sunday!

  29. Richele says:

    definitely chocolate ice cream cake.

  30. Julie says:

    I love her bags! But I do love her Soldered Glass Charm Pendant, Crown and Vintage Bird!

  31. lime says:

    Love the June Bag and the Eiffel tower pendant. Great stuff!

  32. Julie says:

    I follow Melissa on Twitter! =) Great giveways chica!

  33. Allison says:

    I think I like the March bag pattern the best šŸ™‚ I got a sewing machine for Christmas and I'm sad to say that it has been sitting idle for the past few months…perhaps this pattern would be my inspiration to get it going again!!

  34. Sara says:

    i LOVE LOVE LOVE the keep calm pendants…and the March bag… I see one of those in my future! šŸ˜‰ Thanks for introducing me to this great etsy shop!

  35. Tanya says:

    The Keep Calm pendant is sweet!

  36. Sara says:

    and I loooove that turquoise/yellow flower fabric she used on the March bag…does anyone know who makes it? And Happy Birthday Shey!

  37. Oh the bags! Any of the bags! And also the 'keep calm' pendants! I know I'm going to be spending alot of time (and money) on her site!Happy Birthday to you both!

  38. Sara says:

    favorite cake-plain 'ole white cake with white frosting….like a traditional wedding sheet cake. I can't get enough of it!

  39. Katie B. says:

    Oh, goodness. That March bag is fantastic! I must have that pattern. Thanks for introducing me to Melissa's shop.

  40. Katie B. says:

    My favorite cake = Boston cream pie. Mmm. Cake.

  41. Megan says:

    I love the "Soldered Glass Charm Pendant, Birdcage and Key"! It's so cute!

  42. deserae says:

    I love the june bag!

  43. deserae says:

    I am following her and wished her a happy birthday!

  44. deserae says:

    following her on twitter

  45. Megan says:

    I am following Melissa's blog and wished her a happy birthday!

  46. deserae says:

    I love German Chocolate cake!!!

  47. Megan says:

    My favorite cake is my homemade red velvet cake with cream cheese icing! I make it every year for my husband's birthday (since it's his favorite too)!

  48. Dresden says:

    I love her necklace that says "keep calm and carry on" such an inspiring message for these days.

  49. Corrie says:

    I'm all about new patterns! I love the March bag.littleesmama at gmail

  50. Joy says:

    Happy Birthday Shey! i'm now a Melissa follower…and wished her a HB as well.

  51. Corrie says:

    I follow Melissa & wished her a happy birthday.littleesmama at gmail

  52. Joy says:

    my favorite would be the June bag.

  53. Corrie says:

    I follow Melissa on Twitter.littleesmama at gmail

  54. Joy says:

    hands down DQ ice cream cake!

  55. Corrie says:

    Warm chocolate cake w/vanilla ice cream!!!! Mmmmmmmmmlittleesmama at gmail

  56. My favorite cake would be a heavy chocolate cake! Oh, with chocolate frosting and maybe chocolate filling! Did I say chocolate?

  57. I'm a new follower of Melissa's and I left her a comment! One of many I'm sure!

  58. Callie says:

    I love the June Bag. I can feel a project coming on !

  59. I love the Sunday bag! So cute!

  60. Kristi says:

    I already follow Melissa

  61. Kristi says:

    I love the sunday purse!!

  62. Kristi says:

    I LOVE strawberry shortcake!!!

  63. tong says:

    I love the March bag pattern, very pretty!

  64. tong says:

    My favourite cake is chocolate banana with chocolate icing, but I'm starting a cake baking class at a pastry chef school on Monday, so this favourite might change very soon.

  65. Ashley says:

    I love the photo necklace. Everything is so cute!

  66. Ashley says:

    My favorite cake is red velvet with my mom's special icing. Yum!!

  67. Wow! Another fabulous shop! LOVE the Custom Photo Soldered Pendant Charm 1 inch Square Two Photos With Sterling Silver Ball Chain Necklace!!

  68. Heidi says:

    I can't sew at all, but I love that June bag so much I might be willing to try!

  69. Heidi says:

    And does cheesecake count? With raspberry topping? 'Cause that's my favorite cake.

  70. oh my goodness i REALLY want to win this giveaway!! i am a fabricaholic and am collecting patterns now so i can make new things!! i love her The June Bag, a purse pattern and tutorial as well as her Keep Calm and Carry On necklaces!!sandyalamode(at)gmail(dot)com

  71. I follow Melissa's blog (Sandra Chang) and I wished her a Happy Bday!!

  72. I follow her on twitter (sandyalamode)!

  73. red velvet cake is my fave, especially w/ a great big dollop of cream cheese frosting, yum!sandyalamode(at)gmail(dot)com

  74. Andrea says:

    my favorite birthday cake is FUNFETTI šŸ™‚ happy birthday to you!

  75. the necklace with the glass initial.

  76. lemon with lemon icing

  77. I love the purses!!! so cute!

  78. my favorite cake is Yellow box mix cake with THICK chocolate frosting, yum!!!!

  79. Jessica says:

    I love the Keep Calm and Carry on pendants. Think I might need one . . .

  80. The Laumans says:

    LOVE the june bag! Adorable!

  81. The Laumans says:

    Favorite cake….strawberry cake with real strawberries in the batter. Yum-o!

  82. Jessica says:

    I follow Melissa on Twitter (@narniamum). Thanks for the opportunity!

  83. Jessica says:

    I follow Melissa's blog and left some comment love/ Thanks.

  84. Jessica says:

    Pineapple Upside Down! Or Angel Food Cake with berries, yum.

  85. Miss Anne says:

    let's start with CAKE first!RED.VELVET.CUPCAKES= ā™„

  86. Miss Anne says:

    I am a follower of yours AND hers! šŸ™‚ what a sweet blog she has!:)

  87. Miss Anne says:

    And if i could pick my favorite from her site (besides the bags?)…Soldered Glass Charm Pendant, Keep Calm and Vintage Bathing Beautyfor sure!

  88. Freda says:

    I love the stripey tree skirt.

  89. Freda says:

    Shey, I'm a funfetti kinda girl myself.

  90. Sarah Bock says:

    I love the March Bag. Its my favorite!

  91. Sarah Bock says:

    and I'm a follower of both blogs and left a comment on hers!

  92. Sarah Bock says:

    and my favorite cake? Smith Island Cake, its a Maryland thing with 7 thin layers of cake with chocolate icing in between each one. So so good!

  93. Megan says:

    I am a follower!

  94. Megan says:

    I love the keep calm and carry on pendants, I need that reminder hanging from my neck! haha!

  95. Megan says:

    My favorite cake is chocolate with cream cheese icing!

  96. cindyj says:

    Ohh…these giveaways are sooo much fun Shey! thanks for that! Ok, checked out her shop, never saw it before and it is awesome cool! LOVE the soldered glass(love the keep calm and carry on so much)pendant with the pearls… that I will need and also the bag pdf's…um love them all!:) But the sunday big is so pretty! thanks again! oh, leaving blog love and following on twitter for additional chances!

  97. Megan says:

    I follow Melissas blog!

  98. elisa says:

    Oh… another super giveaway. I loved her Soldered Glass Charm Pendant with Circus Poster and Keep Calm and Carry On. It's wonderful.

  99. Her Etsy shop is CUTE! Loving the double sided soldered pendants – unique and versatile :)catherine s.

  100. I also follower her on Twitter!catherine s.

  101. My favorite cake is CAKE – any. Seriously it would have to be cake from O&H Bakery in our hometown here. Look them up and try some cake – you won't ask why after that…yum!catherine s.

  102. Mindy says:

    I love the March bag šŸ™‚

  103. Mindy says:

    I follow her on Twitter now@mdmerenghi

  104. Mindy says:

    I follow her blog now and left her comment love

  105. Mindy says:

    My favorite cake is white buttermilk, yum!

  106. Jessica says:

    How awesome are the patterns and so CHEAP!!!

  107. Jessica says:

    My favorite cake is white cake with raspberry filling. Mmmmmmmm

  108. SisterlyLove says:

    Oooh! WOW! Oh, the patterns are my favorite. Especially the March Bag!! Oh wow. the necklaces are so sweet too. šŸ™‚ Genevievejenny(at)ykwc(dot)net

  109. SisterlyLove says:

    Favorite cake? Anything with FROSTING!!! But now that I've had to go dairy, gluten and egg free….I make a mean pineapple upside down cake that makes my tongue loll out of my face and onto the ground. Not bragging or anything…ha! šŸ˜‰ Happy Birthday and Many Moooooore!Genevievejenny(at)ykwc(dot)net

  110. Katherine says:

    I love the stripey tree skirt pattern and all of the bag patterns!

  111. Katherine says:

    I wished Melissa a happy birthday!

  112. Kristen says:

    Love the June bag! I love long straps! Following her and i left a comment!

  113. Caci says:

    I LOVE her June bag pattern! I am always looking for new bags…some people say I am a bagacholic!

  114. Didee says:

    Black Forest cake hands down!! xo

  115. Didee says:

    Following her blog now!! xo

  116. Didee says:

    Following on twitter too!! xo

  117. kelliemorgan says:

    I love the March bag. Thanks so much!kelliemorgan17@gmail.com

  118. kelliemorgan says:

    Following on blog!kelliemorgan17@gmail.com

  119. kelliemorgan says:

    Following on Twitter!kelliemorgan17@gmail.com

  120. kelliemorgan says:

    Best cake. . . chocolate really dense cake from a Wilton pan. Buttercream frosting that has been left out to harden up a bit. Amazing. Happy Birthday! Hope you get your favorite cake!kelliemorgan17@gmail.com

  121. nsmerkt says:

    The black Keep Calm glass pendant and the March pattern are my faves. Cannot believe how many giveways you have had!

  122. carmel says:

    i love all bag patterns- ofcorsebut i love the "The March Bag" the most!thanks!

  123. carmel says:

    she has a very cool, happy and fun blogi defenatly became a followerhappy birthday to her sonthe lego party looks like a super great ideathanks!

  124. carmel says:

    favorite cake is a cheese cakethanks!

  125. I make a lot of bags and The June Bag, a purse pattern is my favorite in her shop and amazing!! I love it!!

  126. My favorite cake is poppy seed cake!

  127. kraftykash says:

    The June Bag is adorable! I love how it is a pdf pattern that she just emails you. Taht is super handy!

  128. kraftykash says:

    Im following Melissa via twitter and even sent her a tweet šŸ™‚

  129. Megg says:

    Everyone should have a JUNE BAG! It looks awesome! Happy b-day!

  130. Chacoy says:

    i love the sldered glass initial pendent;}

  131. Chacoy says:

    follow melissa's blog & wished her a happy birthday too!

  132. Chacoy says:

    follow melissa via twitter@ma21cuteboy;}

  133. Chacoy says:

    shey, i am going to be honest, i love anything ending in cake!chocolate, vanilla, confetti, neopolitan, carrot, and especially those new ones that they come up with;p mmmm!

  134. Sarah S says:

    those bags are awesome!! I love the keep calm necklace too.

  135. Sarah S says:

    twitter follower! (pinkfrogpress)

  136. I love that March bag! So many fun fabric possibilities!-Arielle

  137. Nicole says:

    What a generous giveaway!!! Oh my word all of those bags are so fresh and fun. I am loving her bags!!!

  138. I already follow Melissa's blog – and I wished her a happy birthday too!!suzannebake@gmail.com

  139. Triple Chocolate Cake!!!!!suzannebake@gmail.com

  140. Candi & Ezra says:

    I am in love with the June bag!

  141. Ry and Ally says:

    Love the sunday and june bags!!

  142. Ry and Ally says:

    Following Polka dot chair and wished her a happy b-day!

  143. Ry and Ally says:

    Following Melissa on twitter!

  144. Ry and Ally says:

    Gotta love ice cream cake!!

Leave a Reply

